Cue Card, what will his Festival target be?

Having lost a few quid on Cue Card when he unseated last time, I did something I’ve never done before: I emailed a trainer. Cue Card’s Chepstow win had impressed me immensely and I thought him great value against Grands Crus.  At Chepstow Joe Tizzard, seeing there’d be no early pace, let the horse go on and make most, albeit at no great lick. But he won well.

At Cheltenham next time, Cue Card took his usual keen hold but JT was determined to hold him up this time. Lord knows why. He’s a horse who looks to be very comfortable and athletic jumping at pace; I thought JT should just have let him get on with it, enjoy himself, and stop using pointless energy – his and Cue Card’s- fighting the horse. (This was pretty much what I put in my email to CT – I got no response and concluded he’d thought me an arrogant bugger)

Anyway, Cue Card runs in the 1.35 at Newbury tomorrow and I believe JT is now talking about making all if needs be (It woz the Sun wot won it!)

I hope to see an outstanding round of jumping from him and a comfortable victory leaving his trainer wondering about his Festival target. Only 3 of his 7 races over jumps have been at below 20 furlongs, resulting in just one win at odds on. Second to Menorah at Cheltenham having travelled very well throughout, he found little off the bit.  He then finished 4th in the Supreme, again fading towards the end.

Stepped up to 20f at Aintree he was beaten a long way into second by Spirit Son, once more using plenty energy racing keenly.

Anyway, let’s hope all tomorrow’s energy goes into galloping and jumping (and that I’m not jinxing him with this post!). If he does win, I expect to hear connections talking about everything from The Arkle to the Gold Cup with the RSA and Ryanair thrown in. I’ve taken a chance at big odds that he ends up in the RSA.

Good luck to him and his connections tomorrow.

About Steeplechasing

Writer, horse-racing fan, cyclist, consultant, entrepreneur. Worked at Aintree, SiS, The Tote, Ladbrokes. Created scoop6. Now run Gamtrain Ltd

Posted on November 24, 2011, in Big races, Cheltenham Festival 2012 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good observations … And spot on he is a horse who just likes to gallop and jump so let him … Its a hot little race and I expect him to have company over last 2 … That will test his jumping !

  2. Hey Joe! Saw the unseat @ chelt. Yr obs is bang on I think. Interesting that Grand Cru settles so much better over fences so has tons in reserve. I’d like 2 c him gvn a bit more rein, sight of his fences & not fought against.. Lets c if he wld be calmer if given less 2 worrit abt! JayDee certainly was on Sat @ Hunt!

  3. Go Cue Card- love this horse, full of enthusiasm!
    Think he definetly wins at Newbury

  4. Cue Card is my new favourite horse. Very energetic!

Leave a Reply

